• Square Elite
  1. If you are having trouble logging in, check the box, "stay logged in" to fix the issue. Thanks! —KHP Staff
  2. Hi Guest, you may have noticed that we aren't khplanet.com anymore. For more information on why these changes are happening, check out our thread, Site Re-Brand Updates

Music Competition

Discussion in 'Archive' started by EbeneezerAl, Jan 25, 2008.

1. EbeneezerAl

EbeneezerAl New Member

OK, this is something I've always kinda wanted to do, but knowing that more than likely there aren't enough people who will enter, I've never tried. As you all know, we have weekly graphics competitions here, in the form of Sig of the Week. Members design and submit sigs each week based on a chosen theme, and then members can vote on which they think is the best.

What I'm interested in doing is a similar thing, except with music instead of graphics. Some of you know that my degree is in recording arts, so sound is the artform I'm most passionate about. I'd love to do something like this, if there is enough interest.

Members would come up with musical arrangements based around a set of guidelines. For instance, one round could involve music form a specific game or movie, or from games or movies in general. Another, everyone would have a specific song to work with. Near certain holidays, the themes could involve music that fit the season (Christmas music for Christmas, scary songs near Halloween, etc.) Perhaps even, in time, taking a stab at things such as re-scoring a video clip.

Obviously, the time frame would be longer than a week, as there is more time involved in this sort of thing. I'd say a couple weeks for some of the smaller tasks, while a month or more for some of the larger tasks. At the end, all submissions would be voted on by the members of the forum.